The Provincial Legislatures may also make laws under Sect. 95 in relation to agriculture and immigration, subject to any laws of the Parliament of Canada in relation to these subjects.

Provincial Franchise.—Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person, male or female, at the age of 21 years who is a Canadian citizen or other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. These qualifications apply with modifications to voters in most provinces. The principal exceptions give voting privileges to persons in Saskatchewan at the age of 18 and in Alberta and British Columbia at 19 years.

Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly has 36 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Aug. 20, 1959 is the 32nd in the history of Newfoundland and the 4th since Confederation.

Since the date of Confederation, Mar. 31, 1949, the province has had three Lieutenant-Governors: the Hon. Sir Albert Joseph Walsh commissioned Apr. 1, 1949; the Hon. Lt.-Col. Sir Leonard Outerbridge commissioned Sept. 5, 1949; and the Hon. Campbell Macpherson commissioned Dec. 16, 1959. The first Ministry, formed on July 13, 1949 under the leadership of the Hon. Joseph R. Smallwood, was still in office on Jan. 1, 1961.

The Premier receives a salary of \$10,000 and the other Cabinet Ministers \$9,000 per annum, plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$1,666.66. An additional allowance of \$3,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

15.—First Ministry of Newfoundland, as at Jan. 1, 1961 (Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 20, 1959: 31 Liberal, 3 Progressive Conservative and 2 United Newfoundland.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General. Minister of Mines and Resources. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Welfare and Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Finance. Minister of Fublic Works. Minister of Highways. Minister of Highways. Minister of Highways. Minister of Provincial Affairs and Solicitor General. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Health. Minister of Education.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD Hon. L. R. CURTIS HON. W. J. KEOUGH HON. C. H. BALLAM HON. E. S. SPENCER HON. F. R. CHALKER HON. F. W. ROWE HON. P. J. LEWIS HON. MYLES P. MURRAY HON. J. T. CHEESEMAN HON. J. M. MCGRATH HON. J. M. MCGRATH HON. J. M. M. MCGRATH HON. G. A. FRECKER	Apr. July Apr. May July Apr. May Dec. Dec. May July	1, 29, 4, 1, 29, 4, 21, 15, 15,	1949 1950 1952 1951	Apr. Apr. May Apr. May May May Dec. (Dec. Apr. May Aug. Aug. Aug.	1, 1, 4, 1, 11, 15, 15, 10,	1955 1957

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Hon. F. W. Hyndman, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 1, 1961, was commissioned to office Mar. 31, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1873) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105.